Polyamory.com Forum  

Go Back   Polyamory.com Forum > Polyamory > Poly Relationships Corner

Notices

Old 11-24-2012, 09:37 PM

Default Too busy for transition to poly?

Hi all!

I'm an architecture student in Ontario. My boyfriend and I have had an open relationship for the past year and a half, and it's worked fine. Last year he went to school in Halifax, now he lives about an hour's drive away.

Recently our different lifestyles have come between us. My program is extremely competitive, and I stay up late working on assignments most nights, whereas he, though also a student, has a much more relaxed lifestyle and much more free time. In the beginning of our relationship we both dated other people, but as my schoolwork becomes more demanding I no longer have time to pursue other relationships. So, although we have an open relationship is spirit, in practice I am monogamous and he is not.

Also, since I am relatively new to poly and still working on overcoming jealousy, I find this relationship distracting. Every time he tells me about a new partner, I am thinking about the two of them together when I should be thinking about my assignments. I love me school and my relationship, but I'm beginning to think that time constraints will not allow me to have both.

If anyone has been in this situation, some input would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
Old 11-25-2012, 12:24 AM

Hi barefoot

This is a good question.

I am in a similar situation of sorts, so can relate. I am not at Uni (I'm 28), but I am finding myself too busy to be actively poly; whilst my GF (who lives in the US) is filling her time with other people. We run a business together and are very busy with that, I also work part time, have more friends to fit in and when we are long-distance, have an 8 hour time difference to my GF.