Polyamory.com Forum  

Go Back   Polyamory.com Forum > Polyamory > General Poly Discussions

Notices

Old 05-30-2010, 10:21 PM

Default Age difference between partners

I'm totally new to this and currently its just me. I have a dear friend from NY, that should we be closer would have a relationship. We have talked about having a poly relationship when we can be closer to each other. Now my issue is i have met some one via the internet that sadly is all the way in Australia and he is just a bit (a lot) younger than me. I'm not old so its not hard to be a lot younger than me. Where i seem to be having the issues is morally. I mean first off just explaining to people/family that i'm poly is one thing, but trying to explain why one of my partners is barely in his 20's is a whole other ballgame. My friend from NY I'll call Redwood and the younger guy is Frosty.

Last edited by Dragonmom; 05-31-2010 at 12:23 AM.
Old 05-31-2010, 03:47 AM

Default XKCD says..

Honestly, everyone has their own standard on this, and it seems to me to not be about mono or poly at all.

I'm pretty ageist romantically, and I feel fairly comfortable admitting that. XKCD has a rule that sums my thoughts up pretty neatly:
http://xkcd.com/314/

Thing is, in any case, that's me and who I date. You and who you date? That's up to you all.

Good luck making the right decision for you!
Old 05-31-2010, 06:47 AM

I like the rule of half your age add seven actually. Someone told me this recently and it worked for me personally.
Old 05-31-2010, 03:34 PM

I think one has to be careful about attaching any fixed guidelines (even in their own head) regarding age differences.
The level of connection we look for doesn't really have an 'age' component as much as an emotional/world outlook component.
Have seen (and been in) wonderful relationships that had an over 20 yr difference. I would never dismiss potential based on a number in advance.

GS
Old 05-31-2010, 06:31 PM