Polyamory.com Forum  

Go Back   Polyamory.com Forum > Polyamory > Introductions

Notices

Old 06-10-2012, 05:27 PM

Default Greetings from a total newbie

Greetings, folks.

I have up to now been completely monogamous. I tend to be a person who goes a long time between relationships because I am a "difficult match"... have a lot of rare viewpoints/interests. It seems these are most often shared in the poly community. I am a "geek" and pagan and for people who are in the geek/fan community, then you know how much this is a "culture" of its own and that relationships between geeks and non geeks can often be difficult; there is a huge cultural divide. The problem is, I am a lesbian and lesbian geeks are very rare. I am also not really involved in "the lesbian community" and almost never meet lesbian women, let alone befriend any. They just never cross my path, ever. I am considering poly... because bisexual married women geeks are NOT rare. As long as I'm willing to get my companionship needs met by more than one person, perhaps I don't need to fear spending the rest of my life alone.

One reason I might consider poly is that despite being lesbian, I have had deep friendships with men that have been kind of "blurry"; we love each other very much, there is just no sex. My lesbian partners have always resented the presence of these men in my life.

The thing is that I want to share my life and household with someone, but the people who tend to be interested in me - almost exclusively - tend to be polyamorous people who already have a primary partner and are married to that person. I am starting to develop a complex that I am not good enough to be anyone's primary partner. I want to share a house and finances and responsibilities with someone and for all intents and purposes be "married".