Polyamory.com Forum  

Go Back   Polyamory.com Forum > Polyamory > Introductions

Notices

Old 03-05-2012, 02:41 PM

Question Three guys with a RING

Hi folks!

I've been thinking poly for all of a month now, which I know is not long. Here's how I came into it and my thoughts so far.

If any of this matters: mid-20s, out gay male "professional" living in one of Canada's larger cities.

My main man and I have always had a SEXUALLY "open" relationship with few SEXUAL limits, aside from safety and honest communication about what we do in bed (and out of it) with others. We had never discussed emotional openness.

G and I have been talking marriage for the past 6 months or so. G is my monogamous (except occasional flings/pure sex relationships, usually with the same sex) guy of 3 years. We've lived together for last 2 years. He is a few years younger than me. We had never discussed poly.

Just over 2 months ago, G and I went "ring shopping" and we picked one out for him, I ordered it - takes a few weeks to come in, custom order. Heads in the clouds, going to get married :-)

And then about 2 months ago, G started falling in love. I suppose it doesn't matter HOW we met this third person (N, male, youngest of the 3 of us), aside from that it was honest and open.

What was not quite honest and open was, G's attitude toward including me in these growing feelings. I know hindsight is 20/20, and yet at the time, I DID feel that G & N had a connection I was not comfortable with. G & I WERE very awkward around each other for a month or so because of this.

And it hurt me more because I could see it, see that I wasn't included, and see that G couldn't yet even include me merely by explaining or telling me about it in any way. Perhaps I should have asked more questions. Lesson learned.