Polyamory.com Forum  

Go Back   Polyamory.com Forum > Polyamory > Poly Relationships Corner

Notices

Old 02-13-2012, 06:09 AM

Default Boyfriend's new partner is pretty much the opposite of me in every way

Ok so I have mentioned I am new to this, still feeling out the whole thing deciding if this really for me or not. Anyways my primary boyfriend is seeing a new girl, I have met her a few times, we get along good, things are really comfortable the times the three of us have hung out. Part of me thinks it is fantastic that she is the complete opposite of me, that it would create some type of balance. However because I am new to this and sort of freaking out about every little thing part of me is really worried that because she is so different my boyfriend might decide she is really more his type then I am.

Basically what I am wondering is, if it is common for other partners to be extremely different from each other?

My other partner is obviously a different than my boyfriend (they are different people lol) but they are not so drastically different from one another, I like a certain type of person and to me I see tons of similarities between the two of them. Unlike me and the other girl who while we have a few things in common I see a world of differences.
Old 02-13-2012, 06:14 AM

Sure. Everyone is different. Sometimes blaringly obviously, sometimes not.

My two live in loves are very similar in many ways, but also completely different in other ways. What you might not see is how you might be similar to your metamour. It will unfold in time I should think.
Old 02-14-2012, 05:31 AM

Redpepper makes a good point. In the last triad I was involved with my gf insisted on focusing on the differences between us instead of the similarities. The similarities were more subtle, but definitely there. She never gave us a chance to explore them.