Polyamory.com Forum  

Go Back   Polyamory.com Forum > Polyamory > Poly Relationships Corner

Notices

Old 11-02-2011, 01:35 PM

Default I cant answer - "who brings up the kids"

Hi all
I'm new to this whole thing.
I tried to relate some of my newly gained knowledge from "ethical slut" to my wife. We reached a point where she seemed sort of OK with the Poly idea, but then she asked me -
"so who brings up the kids"

and I didnt have a really good answer, except to point out how many divorces there are, and "so who brings up those kids?"

I wish now I could have formulated a more intelligent reply -

Like - "well just imagine our boy being loved by another adult as well as us"
or - "more adults in the relationship, with similar values, could be very benificial"

What would you have said?
Can anyone link me to maybe a blog on this, where its been successful?
Old 11-02-2011, 01:46 PM

Lol... there's no prescribed rule about who brings up the kids, especially since there are so many possible poly arrangements!

For instance, I'm married and live with my husband, and I have a casual other boyfriend. He doesn't live with us and won't be expected to bring up our children... co-parenting will happen in my household with my husband and me. Not that our son won't know the boyfriend, but he'll know him as his parent's friend Sven.

What about the case of, say, three women in a poly triad, all cohabitating? They might be more likely to share child-rearing duties.

There's another thread about this here, about how babies change poly dynamics. Check it out!
Old 11-02-2011, 02:00 PM

Thanks Michelle
And I 've just found a google group in the UK for this exact topic.

Of course I'm following RedPepper on here, too - seems like a good example
Old 11-02-2011, 02:05 PM