Polyamory.com Forum  

Go Back   Polyamory.com Forum > Polyamory > Introductions

Notices

Old 10-12-2011, 09:36 PM

Default Poly Fell Into My Lap

Hi folks!
I've been reading the forums for about a week but thought I'd finally register so at least the search would work for me.

I'm not new to the concept of polyamory (lots of people talked about it when I was in college, and I did spend one summer reading every novel Heinlein ever published), but I'm very very new to the experience. I've been with D for 16 years, married for 12. My relationship with K, on the other hand, only got serious last week. At which point, frustrated librarian that I am, I hit the internet for every drop of information and advice that I could find.

Here's our story. This summer K became interested in D and hit on him pretty intensely. After saying "no" he soon switched to "Ask my wife". I don't think he ever expected his wife to say "yes"! After several months of getting to know each other and thinking that it would never go anywhere, one night last week we were startled to find ourselves in bed together. It all felt so normal and natural.

As time has passed (and yes, I realize it's hardly any time at all) we've shaken out into something between a V and a triad. K and I both identify as straight women, but I'm a little more bicurious than she is, so we are sexually active together but with limits. D and K have much higher libidos than I do, so they are together much more than with me, which suits me just fine. I'm a stay at home mom with a toddler and a second child on the way. I'm tired, even when the second trimester hormones have doubled my interest.