Unsure if this is normal behavior...

GeekonFleek

So, I'm pretty new to Poly. My partner isn't. He has been poly for years, while I recently ended a mono marriage. My partner and I love each other. BUT. He found someone he is considering either as a play partner or a real partner. He hasn't decided yet. Which is cool. I was a bit jealous at first, but I moved past it and was happy that he found someone he clicked with.

He invited her over to our house so we could all hang out. It was to be a night for me to get to know her, and, as I know he hoped, for them to explore a little in the bedroom. Here's my concern... The entire night, a good five hours, he didn't touch me once. Not to pet my head as he often does, or squee, my hand, or offer a kiss. Not even in those moments when he and I were alone. Every moment was spent trying to get into her pants and basically fondling her on our couch while our other house member and I chatted. Because I'm new to this lifestyle, and I know I struggle hardcore with my self confidence, im not sure if this is something that is normal, to be ignored in front of a potential metamour, and im just being jealous; or if this is an actual issue that I should bring up to him. I dont want to make him feel bad or like he cant pursue other relationships. I guess I just felt shoved to the side with no reassurance. Again, if it's just my own inadequacy issues coming to the fore, I completely get it and will work on it. I just figured it would be a good idea to ask for advice.

Hi GeekonFleek!

im not sure if this is something that is normal, to be ignored in front of a potential metamour, and im just being jealous; or if this is an actual issue that I should bring up to him.

This is something that varies from person to person—there’s definitely no ‘poly standard’ about how to act when you have more than one partner present.