Love from a poly person isn’t worth as much?

Sept91lee

Hi everyone! I’m new to the forum and poly and just looking for advice and hopefully to understand what this all means. Thanks for your help and perspective.

My boyfriend is married and poly but is only seeing his wife and myself. We’ve been together for a year and it’s been so emotionally hard on my part. I’ve never done this before and just kind of fell into it. . He’s asked me to move in with him and says he loves me. I have a lot of doubt and trouble believing him. Deep down I suspect I think that love from him isn’t worth as much because he’s poly and gives it to someone else as well. Like I’m not his person and if I’m not around, he isn’t lonely like I am because he has his wife.

Am I wrong about this?

Feelings are facts. So you can't be wrong about your feelings.

We can mitigate against damaging feelings and even reverse them as we graduate from jealousy to compersion.

When one parent looks at the other parent experiencing joy with the children, they don't struggle with jealousy as the others hug, giggle, and say "I love you".

They get joy out of it looking on and seeing it. We do not say our love is worth less because there is one child, then two, then three or more.

Of course he is not lonely when he is with someone else, hon. Our concern has to be you - how you struggle and what to do about it.

I am not sure about the moving in part. I keep two separate households. Is that what you mean?

Hello Sept91lee,

It sounds like you are the struggling mono in a mono/poly couple. Are You in Poly Hell? Here are some additional resources: