Polyamory.com Forum  

Go Back   Polyamory.com Forum > Polyamory > Introductions

Notices

Old 08-13-2014, 03:49 PM

Default Exploring

Hi. I am a 60 year old professional female who has been in a 30 year monogomous lesbian relationship. We are both comitted to continuing our relationship and are generally happy in it. It serves both of us positively in many many ways. However, I have recently fallen in love with a 48 year old woman who is going through a divorce. She loves me deeply and we share an amazing soul connection beyond anything either of us has ever experienced previously. I find that she fulfills needs that my partner does not and probably cannot based on her personality. The new interest is a warm and compassionate woman, very open to other people and life and compassionate and emotional. My partner on the other hand is somewhat closed off and untrusting of others and though we love each other deeply the passion has never really been there. We have discussed and determined to try a poly relationship. I am a bit concerned that my partner feels forced into this as she feels I think that if she does not accept it she will lose me. I honestly don't want to choose between them as I love them both. My partner realizes that I am unhappy with things as they are with this one area of my life missing. It's almost like a spiritual connection, the ability to relate to someone on a deeper emotional level who sees life more similarly to the way I do. The new interest is perfectly fine with the sharing aspect and is looking forward to loving my partner as well. My partner has agreed to give it a try and is open to the reality of what I need and does not want me to be unhappy and even accepts that no one person can provide everything for another but still I think fearful of what it means for her. She simply doesn't want me to leave and I have to wonder if she isn't doing this just to hang on to me. Just wondered if some experienced in this can advise me of what things