Polyamory.com Forum  

Go Back   Polyamory.com Forum > Polyamory > Poly Relationships Corner

Notices

Old 06-20-2017, 08:05 PM

Default Metamour is Mono

Hello Poly Community, I'm new to this and I posted in the intro section too, but I'm really looking for advice!

I'm a 26 year old American woman in a long-term relationship with my bf (let's call him W) of 1.5 years. I've always felt like monogamy wasn't enough for me and I could never quite understand why I was only allowed to love one person at a time.

When I met my W, I was in another long-distance relationship that I didn't want to end. We were very in love, despite the distance, so I told my ex bf the situation- that I had cheated and I was in love with another person. After telling W that I loved both of them, and that I feel like I'm polyamorous he made it clear to me that he would only be in a monogamous relationship. After 2 weeks, I decided to stick to the rules of monogamy and break up with my long-distance bf for W, who I felt had more of the same values and life path. It wasn't an easy decision, but I know now (even as a naturally poly person) that I made the right choice. Our relationship has been amazing.

Fast forward to now, and I'm in a very uncomfortable position. Here's the backstory/rant/pour out my entire feelings and the problem that I'm having.
Scroll down to the for the short version.

W and I went to France 3 months ago, he went to do an intense trip paragliding and hiking through the countryside for a month and I went to teach English at a camp. We were only physically together for a few days before we went on our separate journeys.
At some point about a week later, he was spending less and less time focused on his trip and more time doing other touristy things. I didn't think much of it, because I was EXTREMELY busy working 15 hour days at camp, and I was happy that he was enjoying his time in Europe.