Why lie about my marriage?

BathedInSalt

This is rambling, because I'm still working it out myself. This is my first attempt at organizing my thoughts.

THE SITUATION:
Sir's parents invited me over for Thanksgiving. (I love that they did this.)
His dad knows that He is poly, but doesn't know He continues to live that way
His dad knows His ex was married
Dad doesn't know for sure that I am poly and married
Dad doesn't know hong Sir and I have been dating.

It was decided by dad that "mom doesn't need to know".

Sir's brother "grilled" Him one afternoon so they do know I have "some kids" and the kids were invited to Thanksgiving dinner as well.

Sir isn't ready to be completely out as poly to His family. We've talked about why and I recognize that it's in His court. I listened and told Him what I would do if I were Him, but ultimately the shifts in attitude and perspective are on His plate. I understand why He doesn't want to be open and also His sadness because He isn't open with them. He wants to have authentic relationships with His family.

My stance has historically been that I do not want to remove my wedding rings, I do not want to lie. I've personally been coming out over the past year to people on either a need to know basis or the desire to be honest with the people I care about and who care about me.
I met Sir's parent's in August and had my rings on. We were only there for a short while and I didn't have to tell a single lie, even of omission.

I am asking myself why don't I want to lie about my marriage:

1. The exhaustion of making things up and maintaining a lie, un-sustainable.
2. I wouldn't ever be able to have my kids around His parents, bc I won't ask them to lie.
3. It doesn't align with my integrity, makes me feel yuck.
4. I wouldn't want my husband to lie about his marriage to me for his partner.
5. It's not the kind of relationship I want to have with His parents.

I thought more about 4. Why wouldn't I want to be lied about?