Two possible closets avoided!

River

Being a bisexual guy--leaning somewhat toward favoring guys--, I grew up deep in the closet because no other real option was available to me in those dark days of Wonder Bread Suburbia, where everyone conforms to the Normality Code. Closets, I can tell you, totally suck. And now I've had just a little actual experience with polyamory, and would you believe it?, now I have yet another closet to escape! That is, we poly folk are not much appreciated by the Normality Police, either!

Me?: I'm a writer/researcher/thinker/feeler and dreamer.... I love to work and play and mix the two up. I also enjoy cooking, gardening and passionate kisses.

Each day drawing breath is a good day; but some are just plain difficult, anyway.

Hey River,

I can identify with the feeling of having too many closets! I need to get a t-shirt that says Everything I Want to Do is Illegal.

Well, maybe not illegal, but certainly Frowned Upon. Deep within me there is something that has always striven to be normal. I want to fit, I'm not trying to constantly challenge everyone's comfort zones. I just do. Now I'm beginning to see it is part of my power.

Goodness I could have so many labels if I chose to revel in them. Bisexual, psychic, poly, bipolar, borderline, attachment parent, breastfeeder, raw milk-drinker, home-birther, pothead, massage therapist, healer.

All those and many more are labels I feel pressed upon me from this label-hungry world. But you know what? They don't tell the story. I am a person with astronomical amounts of love to give, who can hold energy and connect others to Spirit. I may seem crazy, but I simply refuse to allow others' definitions of the universe to hold me in.

I'm coming to a place of acceptance in this. I still hold fear about what my mom would say if only she knew the depths of my weirdness. Ah well.

most folks live in closets

Avena,