Moving in?

Balder

Hi, I'm kinda new to poly. I've been dating my girlfriend for almost 10 months now, and she lives with her husband, their one year old baby, and his girlfriend. Everyone gets along great. The girls see each other as sisters, and the husband and I see each other as brothers. Their roommates are moving out in a few months, and they want me to move in. I want to move in too, but I'm a little worried about how much it might affect my dating other women. Should I do it? Should I wait? Will moving in make dating others difficult?

Any help is greatly appreciated, thanks.

Hey Balder,

Of course, moving in could complicate your dating situation.
But beyond that, living together is likely to alter the chemistry between you and the others.
This may be good and bad. You can only shield people you care about from your personal truths and habits for so long - and vic versa. Eventually the truth and reality has to come out.

Living together hastens this process :)

GS

Been through the same thing

Here's a little story that unfolded over a two year period. Things have worked out great but you have to be clear on a lot of things. I don't know your personal situation but the one trip wire we have seen in a few couples is a lack of discussion about one thing in particular;

If your girlfriend is poly...and you move in....are you ok with her having other boyfriends after you? Believe it or not this has bit a few people on the ass because they didn't discuss the nature of their relationship in enough depth.

Just something (and a big thing) to consider.

Multi-partner co-habitation
http://www.polyamory.com/forum/showthread.php?t=2349