Polyamory and Monogamy Research Study

antoinette3173

Hello all,

I am currently a PhD student in Cultural Anthropology at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas, where I study intimacy, sexuality, and identity.

I recently attended the International Conference on the Future of Monogamy and Nonmonogamy in Berkeley, where I presented preliminary findings on a research study I'm conducting; I was encouraged by the positive feedback, so I'm recruiting more participants in order to expand my sample size beyond the 150 or so that I had at the time (at last count, we're up to 377 completed respondents, but I'm interested in as large a sample size as I can find).

The purpose of this study is to investigate the affective responses of polyamorous and monogamous participants to hypothetical, imagined scenarios involving their partner(s). This survey is the beginning of an ongoing research effort to gain information about the variety of ways that people conceptualize and experience intimate relationships.

We are interested in collecting responses from individuals who self-identify as either "monogamous" or "polyamorous," especially those who are currently in relationships. Please consider participating if you fit these criteria:

- You are at least 18 years old;
- You self-identify as either "monogamous" or "polyamorous"; and
- You have had at least one intimate relationship.

If you volunteer to participate in this study, you will be asked to do the following: Complete an interview or online survey that includes your basic demographic information, personal thoughts and beliefs about your pair-bonding strategy and relationship(s), and your affective reactions to hypothetical, imagined scenarios involving your partner(s). This is a comprehensive survey. Participants can expect it to take anywhere from 15 to 60 minutes to complete.