Mono with a poly (does that make us monopoly?)

SunsetMan

Hi, I'm S.

I'm a 37 year old mono straight male
2 young kids from a prior marriage.

My fiancee is A.
She's 31 year old poly bi female.
1 child the same age as my eldest.

I expect to be a long term community member. I'm just starting out in a poly experiment and I'm a lot nervous, as some of you may have seen from my first post. :eek: I'm going to have a lot of questions and would appreciate blunt answers b/c I have no intuition to speak of.

I've been characterized as a 'leader' type of personality. She's a self-described 'right-hand woman'. We make a great team. There's an unbelievable amount of chemsitry and have similar life goals, lifestyles and recreation/vacation ideas.

In terms of values, it's a little different. I'm a mono, though and thorugh. I've had affairs in my prior marriagem the latest of which was with A. She's poly, though this is a new revelation to me.

3+ years and a mountain of drama later... we're engaged.

9 days ago from the time of this post, I learned that she's crushing hard and falling for on P, a mutual friend who lives 6 hours away and is a freqent online acquaintence.

I didn't flip out, trying to find my happy medium with it. I'm not sure if it's possible but I've gotten some great advice here and I have some soul-searching to do.

Anyhow, hello!

Greetings S,
Welcome to our forum.

Re:
"Mono with a poly (does that make us monopoly?)"

LOL, well it doesn't make you "a monopoly," but it does make you a mono/poly dyad. :)

Mono/poly pairings are challenging, but I know it can be done; I know people who have done it. Communication is a crucial key in what will make the difference.

Also, whatever relationships A has, hopefully she'll keep an eye on that NRE (New Relationship Energy) factor, and put extra effort into her relationship with you (so that you don't get that "left behind" feeling).

Anywayz -- glad to meet you here.
Sincerely,
Kevin T.