New Here

Nursehope

Hi! I'm Hope,

I'm new to the world of polyamory along with my husband and I'm still navigating the emotional roller coaster that comes of adding a new person to an existing relationship. We have all known each other for several years and have recently come fully back into each others' lives. The plan is for us to be a triad, two women and one man, and that there will eventually be a sexual relationship between the three of us. There are children involved, but they already see each other as family, so that helps alleviate one concern. I have a lot of insecurity and jealousy with this new dynamic that I have never had to deal with before, and I'm afraid that I am making my partners' lives miserable with my fears. I am hoping this community will provide a way to talk about the issues that can be inherent in new poly relationships, and also help me to work through some of my issues. It's great to be here!

Greetings Hope,
Welcome to our forum. Please feel free to lurk, browse, etc.

You have a great advantage in that you have a "ready-made" partner to join you and your husband and form a three-person poly unit with you. I know it's pretty scary right now but don't get too spooked; most everyone has lots of fears and insecurities in the early years of their poly relationships. A lot of things you just have to figure out by trial and error, with lots of patience and love, but I can assure you Polyamory.com is good source of information for you. Lots of collective wisdom here.

One big word to make a mantra of is "communication." Few things can matter more to a polyamorous relationship. Communication is important to monogamous relationships too but for polyamorous relationships, it can really make the difference between sink or swim.