Crossing boundaries – disrespect or just a change of mind/heart?

Pea

hey hey, I’m new to poly but so this might seem naive. My boyfriend and I of about a year and a half at the time, decided to have an open relationship knowing that we were going to be doing long distance for about 6 months. We've had some small flings in the past and had no issues whatsoever. During the six months apart both him and I had a relationship with another partner. I got very close with mine but we had always felt committed to my boyfriend and that I would go back to him when our long distance time was over.

The difference was that my boyfriend had chosen to continue his. This I wasn’t ready for. I was upset I that my boyfriend didn’t talk to me about this prior to me finding our for myself by seeing them together but accepted that he just understands things differently to me. When I expressed my discomfort about this, he couldn’t bring himself to commit to me only. He wanted her company as well as mine and continued to do so. I was upset because we had previously agreed that if one person felt uncomfortable the other person would step back - this was my security to know that I’d be ok trying this out.

I felt betrayed that he had changed his mind and yet I can understand being swept away by a new relationship. He says part of that was because we had difficulties in our relationship and needed her for comfort and someone to talk to. To his credit, he hasn't slept with her since and I think he would have if it wasn't for me - he does continue to have romantic trips with her and kisses and cuddles.