Polyamory.com Forum  

Go Back   Polyamory.com Forum > Polyamory > Poly Relationships Corner

Notices

Old 06-05-2018, 03:33 AM

Default Is being polyamorous by choice or not?

I'm still very new to polyamory...

Before even asking about the concept of consensuality, I wonder if there are people here who believe that polyamory is something not considerable as a choice.

Wikipedia, and some other sites describe polyamory as a "desire to form new intimate relationships", but has any of you ever considered it as a need rather than just a choice?

More like a sexual orientation? LGBT-P+?

According to my recent observations on the forum, there seems to be two types of poly people:
-those who are poly by choice
-those who are poly because they are

Last edited by JapinaTricycle; 06-05-2018 at 03:56 AM.
Old 06-05-2018, 05:18 AM
Spaminator

I wouldn't go so far as to put it in the same category as sexual orientation. I do know I am definitely not wired for monogamy and polyamory is my preferred form of non-monogamy.
Old 06-05-2018, 06:53 AM

I can go without seeking out new people to find connections, but if I stumble across one... Well, I am useless at walking away. If there is attraction, I'm going to follow that as far as it goes. It may wane quickly if the person isn't a good match, it may have to be severed somewhere down the line if that person is an unhealthy match, it may move through NRE and into a long term friendship, right now I haven't had concurrent long term committed relationships as the one I attempted turned unhealthy after about 4 months. I severed it after about 5 and a half.
Do I have a choice?...
Do I believe in free will? Not precisely.
I do think we have a modicum of free won't. We can go off our intended path, but we always get called back.
Jen: 32F, US based, Lance's GF

My NZ friends of varying intimacies: Chalk, Cheese, Tech, Siege, Golf, Mike, Shakespeare.
Adam's intimate friend, formerly GF: Sis
Old 06-05-2018, 09:00 AM