New and Confused

justagirl33

Hi Everyone,

I am fairly new to the polyamory lifestyle. I've been seeing this guy, K, for almost 7 months now. Originally it started as a long(ish) distance relationship. We lived over an hour away from each other and would get to see each other once a week. I have recently moved closer to him (I'm only 15 minutes away now) and this has helped with some of the distance issues that I had.

K and his wife are still kind of new to this as well. They have had experience with a long time partner for his wife, and then they've been with couples. K had another girlfriend before me, that ended when she found someone else to live a monogamous relationship with. When dating K, I thought that they had it altogether. Haha! Boy was I wrong! They're still struggling to find a balance, and I feel like I have plateaued with where this relationship is going to go.

K and I have grown close very quickly. This is due to health issues that took over me early on in our dating. They were nice enough to take me into their home and help me out this summer as I recovered from 2 surgeries and was on some medication that made me pretty loopy. K and I bonded a lot over this time, quicker than either of us expected. But I see K struggle so much with how to make all of this work.

I don't get to spend a lot of time with K, even being close. He does try though. It seems that his emotions are split between the two of us. He often makes comments about wishing he could split himself in two, so he could be in two places at once. She is his primary, and with the way things are going, even with how hard I know he's trying; I feel like I just get his 'left over' time. He hates leaving me, and often has a frown on his face, but he also makes excuses as to why he can't or shouldn't be with me at a given time.