A vexing situation - newbie (long read)

OldSchoolG

Hello all,

I am new to this forum - brand new. I am also new to polyamory, in fact I am not really there (yet) but am in a confusing situation that the good members of this forum can perhaps help me with:

I am a mid 40s straight man, married with children for 14 years. I love my wife very much and we are compatible in many ways, but unfortunately the sex has been very infrequent and boring. Basically she is pretty vanilla, full of anxiety, somewhat prudish and has a low sex drive, but I am the complete opposite and have been subduing a lot of my needs and impulses all this time. Recently I have become better at expressing my needs again (I had given up before after trying numerous times to change things) and the sex is getting better, but I still know that there are parts of my sexuality (the closet sex-freak who wants to experiment, have rough sex, get into BDSM and experiment with men) that she will never be able to fulfill, and I can't imagine going the rest of my life with her as my only sexual partner. At my initiation we have recently talked about opening up our marriage, but she was VERY against that. I am not so into casual sex and neither is she - if we did open up, we both realized it would be with people who we would truly care about, which is obviously threatening to our marriage, although I do not feel that way, because: