New To All Of This

TCampbel

Hi my name is Terri. I am VERY new to this idea of polyamory and find myself in a position of really needing to contemplate what it entails and how to present it to my partners.

A friend of mine gave me a great book to read and I want to learn more, especially how best to manage the discussion with my primary partner. We've been together for 16 years and I love her deeply, but I have also fallen in love with another woman. Hopefully, I'll learn lots here.

Thanks

Welcome, Terri.

I think that quite a number of us have been in a position quite similar to yours. There have been many mistakes...er... "learning opportunities" that have occurred along the way and we are all very much the wiser because of it.

I really wish that there had been a resource like this when I started realising that "something was wrong" - I initially thought it was something wrong with me. I know I would have made a LOT less mistakes and hurt a lot fewer people as a consequence.

Please feel free to talk about your own situation as much as you feel comfortable, and solicit opinions. I think there are many that hang out here in the hopes that they can help others not fall down the same rabbit holes that we did... :)

Welcome! What book are you reading? :) If you're interested in more reading material, there is a whole thread on book and website recommendations! This is also a great place to get feedback if you are in a situation that isn't like the ones already discussed around here.

Thanks for the warm welcome

I will continue to look around and see exactly were to begin posting. The book was "Polyamory" by Ravenscroft. It seems to be a great introduction to the topic. Thanks for pointing out the reading list... I'm an academic and love to read!!

Thanks again!
T

Hello Terri,
Welcome to our forum.