Polyamory.com Forum  

Go Back   Polyamory.com Forum > Polyamory > Fireplace


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-12-2010, 11:12 PM
SNeacail's Avatar
SNeacail SNeacail is offline
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Near Disneyland
Posts: 1,703

Decorating cakes
Watching my kid play football
Going to sporting events with my kids
ham radios
Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 07:19 PM
MrDreadful's Avatar
MrDreadful MrDreadful is offline
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Swindon, Wilts, UK
Posts: 131

Live roleplay
Tabletop roleplay
Playing guitar
Watching movies
Painting toy soldiers
Real ale
Actually, it's both big and clever.

Atomic Tangerine - Guitar and amp blog.
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2015, 01:03 PM
Middlegirl Middlegirl is offline
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: In the middle
Posts: 181
Smile I just saw this thread

My list looks like this..

Running, (every morning) followed by something sweat and big coffee.

Soccer, at least 2 games during the week and on Sunday mornings.

Class, the longer I am in college the better I am enjoying my classes.

Cooking, it feel like cooking is a survival skill and everyone should learn.

Books, I love the idea of books but I don't get to read for fun that often.

My Journal, when I first moved in Renee had me keep one. I have leaned so much for it.

Parenting, I know I am not the boys Mother or Father but I do play a critical part in their lives and its important that I do things the right way, and help raise them to be caring and thoughtful people.

That's just a few..
I am Jill 23 Lesbian in the middle of a Poly relationship
Renee late 30s bi female married
Mark mid 40s husband bi
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2015, 02:14 PM
Confused Confused is offline
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 157

There's not a lot of time for hobbies which take us away from the kids and we home educate so the kids are always around.
I crochet and read when they're occupied and they've recently started indoor climbing lessons so while they're busy with the instructor my husband and I can climb together.
Otherwise we have to pay expensive babysitting rates to get out to do anything.
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2015, 10:37 PM
kdt26417's Avatar
kdt26417 kdt26417 is offline
Official Greeter
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Yelm, Washington
Posts: 14,285

Re (from OP):
"What sort of fun things do all of you do for hobbies when you're not posting here?"
Oh crap, that eliminates my #1 hobby.

Well, sometimes I read, or do other computer stuff (e.g. Facebook, a thorn in my side). I suppose most of all I dig watching movies, also cool TV series such as Law & Order, Breaking Bad, the X Files ... you get the idea.

I used to have other hobbies like playing piano, composing songs for the piano ... for some reason I've lost interest in that though.

"How did you get into doing whatever it is you do?"
I like movies and TV shows (provided they're decent), I always have. I like rewatching stuff that's really good.

Heh; sex is pretty cool too.
Love means never having to say, "Put down that meat cleaver!"
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2015, 04:02 PM
LizziE LizziE is offline
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: The Frosty Northeast
Posts: 297

write on my blog
hunt down awesome sci-fi (usually space) movies that I haven't seen before
try to find my physical problem and get better

Back before I started having chronic pain and some weird not-yet-diagnosed health problem, I used to do a lot of physical things. I swam, and did ugly mudders and climbing. Now going to doctors and trying different types of physical therapy, occupational therapy, and kinetics is practically a hobby. Hopefully someday I'll get back to the sports.

Liz: cis female, 33, bi. life partner Jonathan, also dating Issi
Jonathan: cis male, 30, bi. life partner Liz

Issi: queer, 32, dating Liz, married to Jared
Jared: cis male, 33, straight, married to Issi, formerly dated (and still good friends with) Liz.
Rachel: cis female, 32, bi, life partner Rob, former non-sexual potential life partner to Liz (still good friends)
Lora: cis female, 27, bi, ex-partner of Jon

Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2015, 04:21 PM
pacificfords pacificfords is offline
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Washington
Posts: 22

I guess travel would be my #1 hobby. I love adventure and seeing new places or experiencing new things. Road trips are the best!!

Writing is my passion. I love to read as well, but don't find as much time for it as I should.

The internet is definitely a hobby for me. I spend quite a bit of time enjoying it. I love research, socializing and exploring.

My kitchen is one of my favorite hobbies. I love cooking, planning, organizing, cleaning and just generally being in the kitchen.
Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2015, 07:50 PM
RainyGrlJenny's Avatar
RainyGrlJenny RainyGrlJenny is offline
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Seattle
Posts: 254

I love to cook, especially homey, peasanty, Mediterranean-style foods. I also love eating out. Just food in general.

I love travel. Fly and I did a lot of international travel, and I absolutely would move to southern France, Barcelona, or Argentina in a heartbeat. Moonlight and I do more domestic travel, local weekend road trips or Hawaii.

I read constantly, and I'll read almost anything. I enjoy movies, but don't watch them much. The only TV I'm into is Jeopardy, Grey's Anatomy, and football.

I really enjoy gardening, and am very into urban homesteading. This was easier when I lived with Fly, who has a house with a big, southern-exposed backyard (and a chicken coop!). I was over there to pick up kiddo the other day, and the columnar apple trees I planted two years ago have blossoms for the first time. It made me sad to leave all that behind. My apartment now has very little space and very little sun, but I still have a bunch of herbs, a little dwarf raspberry, and a potted olive tree.

I like going to performances, like ballet or theatrical productions. I have a special place in my heart for musicals.

- Moonlight, single, leans monogamous, girlfriend since 6/2012
- Punk, married guy, poly, FWB since 9/2011 with an emphasis on the "F"
- No longer lives with ex-boyfriend Fly (1/2006 - 12/2013, my introduction to nonmonogamy, ultimately amicable breakup), and his 11-year-old son Kiddo
Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2015, 01:16 PM
KC43 KC43 is offline
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,798

Some people would say writing (I write romance books under one pen name, and teen fiction under another) is my hobby, but I don't consider it such. Six or so years ago, it was. I wrote just for fun, and pretty much no one read my stuff. But now I'm multi-published, and writing is my only source of income, so it's a career, no longer a hobby.

Last fall, I realized that since writing made that transition in my life, I didn't *have* a hobby, though a friend of mine who's also polyamorous said that in her opinion, juggling my kids, my household, and my relationships with Hubby and S2 was enough of a hobby... I talked to S2 about feeling like I needed something to do to take my focus off writing and give me a mental break.

He handed me his spare bass guitar (because who doesn't have more than one of those lying around) and said, "Here, learn how to play this."

Six months later, I'm competent with playing bass on a few classic rock songs, have composed three songs of my own plus the bass line for one or two of S2's original songs, and we're working on a set list that we plan to perform live--with additional musicians--starting about a year from now.

So I guess music is my hobby...
Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2015, 10:32 PM
zigzag's Avatar
zigzag zigzag is offline
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: France
Posts: 114

Playing things with strings (guitar, bass, mandolin, banjo)
Football (soccer)
Ballroom and Latin Dancing
Gardening and
Growing vegetables

Oh and sex :-)

Happily living in an Open V.

Dramatis Personae

Me, M, 54 and married to Angel my girlfriend since school
Angel, F, 53, my wife and BFF
Various lovers both long term and more transient
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:24 PM.