Polyamory.com Forum  

Go Back   Polyamory.com Forum > Polyamory > Poly Relationships Corner

Notices

Old 05-22-2013, 12:00 PM

Default Handling Kids

I have an 8 year old son and am currently in a V relationship. We all get along well, and whenever my husband and son are in town (I am a student that lives almost 5 hours away from him) we all spend time together. This is a new relationship, just shy of 2 months (the husband, 13 years).
However, I spend more time with the boyfriend than the husband because of proximity. Both of the guys get along great too. I am not sure what this is going to develop into over time and don't know how to handle our situation with my son around. How do others with kids work it out?
Old 05-22-2013, 01:24 PM

I have an 8 year old and a 6 year old. I just live my life around them. Honestly they don't care at all what the grown ups do. If your son asks you questions answer him honestly. You are his parents, however you live your life will be his normal.
Old 05-22-2013, 01:33 PM

Only the 14 year old knows. The other kids don't pay attention. 14 year old was like "if you're fixed why do you buy condoms?" Lol duh
Old 05-22-2013, 03:46 PM

Have you done any searches for past posts? You can do an Advanced Search or a Tag Search and find a wealth of information. There is a very long thread here about children and polyamory. Lots of insights and experiences shared there: Children and Polyamory

Oh, oh, can't you see? Love is the drug for me. ~Bryan Ferry
"Love is that condition in which another person's happiness is essential to your own." ~Robert Heinlein
Old 05-22-2013, 05:21 PM

My kids are 10 and 6. They just do their normal kid things.