Polyamory.com Forum  

Go Back   Polyamory.com Forum > Polyamory > General Poly Discussions

Notices

Old 08-28-2012, 04:10 PM

Default Single ladies, using the term "unicorn"

and putting yourself out there as one. Do you find that suddenly, it's assumed you are the mythical girl that so many couples are seeking?

I'm new to all the terminology but after reading maybe hundreds of profiles couples are putting out there; it certainly seems they are Way Way out there in their expectations!

So, I don't know about you ladies but to me so far many of these couples really believe the myth! Then they get mad and go away LOL

Jus wonnering..

Denise
Old 08-28-2012, 07:01 PM

I'm not single, but I've been in the position of being so and getting involved with coupled folks in various ways before. I would be really pissed off in anyone called me a "unicorn" because the connotations for unicorns (disposable, naive, being used) and unicorn hunters (self-centered, unrealistic, users) are all SO negative. For that same reason I definitely wouldn't claim that title for myself. Calling myself a unicorn would also imply that I'm looking to get involved with both members of a couple equally, and I would never want to make that call before meeting the couple in question and knowing for sure that 1) I actually had chemistry and compatibility with both of them, and 2) they actually had the space in their hearts and lives for the triad and the dyads that would then be created, which of course is so rare.
Old 08-29-2012, 12:53 AM

I agree, calling yourself a Unicorn implies a lot more than a single, bisexual female who wants a relationship with a couple.

Often it adds in an *exclusive* relationship where the couple stays dominant and only is with the single girl when it suits them. They make the rules, and the single girl is expected to live by them.

Yes, that's the stereotype, but you see it all too often, I'm afraid.