Polyamory.com Forum  

Go Back   Polyamory.com Forum > Polyamory > Poly Relationships Corner

Notices

Old 05-18-2012, 09:24 AM

Default Is it worth it?

Hi there. Newbie here on the forum, and not particularly experienced in poly relationships. I've been in a triad sort of relationship once before (me and girlfriend expanding our relationship to include a mutual boyfriend- co-primary, I guess?). There's a lot of background there, but in the end it lasted about a month before a very messy breakup with the boyfriend.

I've known for a long time that it's impossible for me to only love one person at a time. But I concluded after that ordeal that I simply couldn't deal with the actual issues involved. It's not that I couldn't handle being jealous, it's that I couldn't handle jealousy over me.

I've since gotten out of the relationship with the girlfriend (six years, first serious relationship), after becoming aware of many issues, most revolving around possessiveness and extreme jealousy on her part. It's not the first time we've broken up, and every time I tend to jump straight into relationships with someone else I have feelings for. I have cut her out of my life and am very much done with her on the relationship front now, but I have ended up rushing into another relationship with someone, and it's gotten serious very quickly.