Thread: Hello :)
View Single Post
  #3  
Old 10-08-2012, 12:06 PM
JaneQSmythe JaneQSmythe is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Pennsyl-tucky
Posts: 1,180
Default

Hello and Welcome to the forums.

People come to poly in many different ways so all of our "getting started" stories are different. You might enjoy reading the blogs and life stories section here to see all of our awkward beginnings .

Quote:
Originally Posted by LifeLikeWeeds View Post
I'm a 24 year old, married to a wonderful man, mostly straight female. I say mostly because for the most part girls scare the hell out of me. All of my friends (all two of them ) are guys, but I have had a few crushes on girls.
I can relate to this! I have always found it easier to maintain friendships with guys. The only two "serious" relationships I have ever had (the two I am in now) have been with guys. Although I identify as bisexual, I find that I shy away from women who are more experienced with other women than I am (I think I am afraid that they will think I'm "doing it wrong").

Quote:
Originally Posted by LifeLikeWeeds View Post
And I guess my husband and I have reached that point in our relationship where we're both mature enough to think about seeing/dating other people. We've been together since 17, and only ever been with each other, so I guess we're both curious as to what a relationship with someone else will be like. I'd like a triad sort of relationship with another guy, but he's mostly straight (mostly, haha) so I'm just really not sure where to go from here.

So I found this forum! Hello!
I'm glad you found us. The few word of advice that I have would be to 1.) be open to possibilities - you may find something you never thought you were looking for 2.) a relationship with someone else WILL be different from your current relationship - each relationship has a life of its own, don't make assumptions based on your current successful relationship - what works for one may not be what is needed in the other 3.) communicate with your husband - a LOT!

Welcome to the roller coaster.

JaneQ
__________________
Me: poly bi female, in an "open-but-not-looking" Vee-plus with -
MrS: hetero polyflexible male, live-in husband (21+ yrs)
Dude: hetero poly male, live-in boyfriend (3+ yrs) and MrS's best friend
Lotus: poly bi female, "it's complicated" relationships with Dude/JaneQ/MrS (1+ years)
TT: poly bi male, married to Lotus, FB with JaneQ
VV and MsJ: bi-women with male primaries, LTR LDR FWBs to JaneQ


My poly blogs here:
The Journey of JaneQSmythe
The Notebook of JaneQSmythe
Reply With Quote