Polyamory.com Forum

Polyamory.com Forum (http://www.polyamory.com/forum/index.php)
-   Poly Relationships Corner (http://www.polyamory.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Is polyamory for me? (http://www.polyamory.com/forum/showthread.php?t=413)

Tallin 06-23-2009 10:48 PM

Is polyamory for me?

Greetings all, and thanks in advance for your advice and support. I'm a young college student, healthy, and a good student. I'd like to say that I'm a good guy.

Anyway, I currently have a girlfriend that I am very much in love with, and we have a great relationship at the moment. We've both been faithful and I enjoy our sex life and emotional bonding time very much. I don't have fantasies about threesomes myself, but the idea of two people to hold at once is kind of appealing.

The reason I'm considering polyamory is not because I'm in any way unhappy with my current relationship, but because I feel I have more to give. Don't get me wrong, my current girlfriend satisfies my need for sex and the like. It's just that as a person, I tend to give her everything I can, and I still feel like I have more love to share. I believe I could give someone else a great deal of love and attention in addition to my current lover.

I've mentioned thoughts about this to her before, and she said it would be alright with her. In fact, she felt that my having someone else would be nice in some respects. She loves me very much, and couldn't stand to lose me or anything, but she's simply much more independent than I am, and doesn't need as much as I do in terms of bonding and attention. Because of this, she feels that if I had someone else, she'd feel less guilty about requesting more alone time, and feel more secure that I'm not unhappy or alone.