When is cheating considered cheating?

tll2k6

This is my first post, and I am completely new to this poly thing. I fond out that my wife is in love with a person she met on the internet. They have never met irl, and he wants nothing to do with her anymore. That caused her to realize that she loved him and had for a while now, which is making her think that she might be poly. I am filled with questions, but I need to work through them one at a time. I personally don't feel like she was cheating, and I've told her this, but she is really depressed about it. I'm not asking to be convinced that she was cheating, because I can see how that could be, I just wonder: If the "cheatee" doesn't feel like it was cheating, but the "cheater" does, is it really cheating? I would think that my lack of hurt would mean that it wasn't.

It's much better form to talk about it up front. I have a pretty hard bottom-line rule, that if you engage romantically with someone else without discussing it with me, that's cheating and I'm done. That's been my rule all my life; though before poly, I'd likely have been done had you discussed it with me.

That's another cool thing about poly. You and your wife get to decide with each other, what cheating is for you.

Well, she didn't realize that she was falling for him, and that's what made her think she was poly. This all happened about a week ago, and we've been trying to figure it all out since then. I'm sure if we decide to continue a poly relationship, we'll be much more upfront. Thanks for your response!