The Joys of Grad Student Final Papers

Bionicgeek

I'm a sociology masters student in the Northern Virginia area. Just finished my paper for my Globalization class trying to link globalization to poly. Proved to be an interesting and, at times, frustrating endeavor. Next up is a 20 page paper examining poly through feminist theory. Any suggestions people, getting to talk about this a bit would do wonders for my sanity.

I'm finding that plowing through what little academic work has been done on our community has been both enlightening and stressful given that it seems we don't do as well in bucking dominant discourses as we, or at least I, would hope sometimes.

Currently my working research question for my thesis is, "How do Polyamorous individuals conceptualize of family?"

However, I'm not touching that til I finish this paper for feminist theory, which was more of what I was talking about when I threw that advice remark out. In general I'm looking for people to talk to and keep me sane as I write this thing that's due on Thursday.

~Roy

Ah, mea culpa. No real thesis statement, it's a literature review with the general guideline of asking what feminist theory would have to say concerning polyamory.

I'm not finding much as yet since I just started the introduction. I finished my other 20 page paper yesterday morning at 7am and then dived into bed. Tomorrow will be diving through the journal articles I've rounded up and getting a better idea of how I'm outlining this thing. As for types of femenism I think anything after Simone de Beauvoir is game.